The Capitol Lions

The Utah State Capitol‘s east and west entrances are flanked by four majestic lions, symbolically guarding it from harm. Each of the lions has a unique virtue as a name and represents a different stage of life. The Capitol’s original lions were commissioned in 1916, the year the Capitol was dedicated, and sculpted with concrete. They became weathered over time and were replaced in 2007 with new lions made from slabs of Carrara marble-a more durable, refined, and befitting material.

The Original Lions

On September 1, 1916, per the suggestion of Capitol architect Richard K.A. Kletting, the Capitol Commission awarded a contract for four lion sculptures to be added to the Capitol’s entrances for the sum of $800.

The selected sculptor was Gavin H. Jack (1859-1938), an Emery County resident and immigrant from Scotland. He studied art in New York, Paris, and Dresden, and worked on the Panama Canal, where he gained experience working with concrete. The lions were cast in this material and added the following year, where they remained until 1998.

INTEGRITY
(North Lion at the East entrance)

FORTITUDE
(South Lion at the East entrance)