Glenwood was established in 1863 by Mormon pioneers. It was named for an early pioneer, Robert Wilson Glenn. The settlement’s original name was Glencoe or Glen Cove, but was changed in November 1864 when Orson Hyde (an LDS Church leader) visited the settlement and recommended Glenwood. A stone fort was constructed in April 1866.
The Black Hawk War of 1867 between the settlers and the local Indians left Glenwood deserted for one year, but it was later resettled in 1868 after peace resumed.
Glenwood was an excellent site for a settlement, owing to fresh springs that naturally bubbled from the hills east of town. The springs still feed Glenwood’s culinary water supply, and supply water for a State of Utah fish hatchery southeast of town. A gristmill was built in Glenwood that became the first of its kind in the county.
A ZCMI co-operative building was built on the intersection of Main and Center streets in 1878. For several years it was the largest building in the county. As families moved out of Glenwood, Isaac Washington Pierce Jr., a resident of Glenwood, bought out all shares in the store and ran the store as a privately owned business for many years. It still stands as the main historical landmark in town, although it is currently abandoned.
Pingback: Glenwood United Order | JacobBarlow.com
Pingback: Settlement of Annabella | JacobBarlow.com