Clifton (Loseeville) was situated in East Valley one mile east of the Pahreah River and four miles north of Cannonville. The first settlers were Ebenezer Bryce in 1876 and Daniel Goulding in 1878. They built a ditch to bring water to the valley from Pine Creek which rises on the west side of the Escalante Mountain. Within five years both men grew discouraged and moved.
The first permanent settlers came in 1886. Because there was another Clifton in the state, the name of the town was changed to Loseeville after early settler Isaac H. Losee. Church meetings and a school were started for the twenty or more families who made Loseeville their home.
In 1891, the Clifton Irrigation Company was organized to regulate the use of Pine Creek and Henderson Canyon water. Within ten years, the unreliable water supply and drought forced the people to abandon the town.
Today, only a few old buildings and this small cemetery remain. The picturesque spot north of this marker contains several unidentified and seven identified graves with the earliest dated in 1889. The seven are: Isadora Allen, Elizabeth Richards, Thomas Elwin Smith, Isaac Huff Losee, Sarah Gilbert Losee, Eliza Jane Losee Cox, John G. Losee.
Productive farms in the valley are now irrigated with water from East Fork and Henderson Canyon.