Widtsoe was a town in Utah from about 1908 to about 1936.
Hatch Ward Building & Bell
In 1904 the Hatch LDS Ward building was erected on this lot. A vestibule was added in 1901, and the bell was purchased with donations from ward members. For many years it hung in the tower and rang out for all civic, social and church activities. School was held in the building until 1913. The building was razed March 3, 1983, when the new ward meetinghouse was built.
Hatch Camp/Daughters of Utah Pioneers/1988
About 1872 Joseph Asay with his family settled about 3/4 of a mile west and a little south of this spot. Soon other homesteaders settled in the locality. Tom Jessup and Dan LeRoy erected a water power saw mill. A shingle mill was established, Jerome Asay P.M. Here he kept for sale some groceries and hardware items. A log house was built for church services, James Dutton and Issac Asay served as presiding elders. The building was also used for school and social activities. In 1892 the people became a part of the Mammoth Ward organized at Hatch 8 miles north. By 1900 Asay Town was abandoned, because of the short growing seasons and long hard winters.
Hell’s Backbone Road is a 38-mile gravel road that was built by the Civilian Conservation Corps in the 1930s, and connects the towns of Boulder, Utah and Escalante, Utah. Halfway along the road is Hell’s Backbone Bridge, which is 109 feet long, and 14 feet wide. A 1,500-foot drop is on either side. Near the bridge are spectacular views of the Box-Death Hollow Wilderness. From late spring to autumn, the road, which climbs to more than 9,000 feet elevation, is easily passable by ordinary passenger vehicles, but it is very narrow and winding, and not for the faint of heart.
There is no place like Bryce Canyon. Hoodoos (odd-shaped pillars of rock left standing from the forces of erosion) can be found on every continent, but here is the largest collection of hoodoos in the world! Descriptions fail. Photographs do not do it justice. An imagination of wonder will serve you when visiting Bryce Canyon National Park.(*)
From the Native Americans who traveled the canyons, to people like J.W. Humphry who constructed the tunnels, Red Canyon on the Dixie National Forest has fascinated people for centuries. Unique vermilion-colored rock formation and stands of Ponderosa pines make the canyon exceptionally scenic. Take time to discover all that Red Canyon has to offer.
The first stop when touring Highway 12 is the Scenic Byway Information Kiosk located at the mouth of Red Canyon. This information pavilion provides an overview of the entire byway and highlights significant features.
The Red Canyon Visitor Center, open from Memorial Day to Labor Day, has information on hiking, camping, picnicking, and sightseeing. A U.S. Forest Service campground is across the road from the visitor center.
For a closer look at the unique scenery, Red Canyon features an extensive and well-maintained trail system that provides something for everyone. The Birdseye Trail is a moderate .8-mile hike offering spectacular close-up views of the red rock formations. The 3-mile Losee Canyon Trail provides a more rugged look at some of the Red Canyon area “crown jewels”. Off-highway vehicle (OHV) use is allowed on the Casto Canyon Trail. Please check with the visitor center for trail use.
The Red Canyon Trailhead Kiosk, located a short drive east of the visitor center, accesses five different trails with are open to hiking, biking and horses. Less-traveled trails provide a chance to get away from the crowds and see areas saturated with geologic treasures.
Trails in Red Canyon are open year round. When snow-covered some of the trails are perfect for touring on cross-country skis or snowshoes.
Services are available at the junction of Highways 12 and 89, in the nearby towns of Panguitch and Hatch on U.S. 89, and 15 minutes east on Highway 12.(*)
Anasazi State Park Museum is a state park and museum in Southern Utah, United States, featuring the ruins of an ancient Anasazi village referred to as the Coombs Village Site.
The Coombs Site is the site of one of the largest Anasazi communities known to have existed west of the Colorado River. The name Anasazi, Navajo for “Ancient Enemies,” or “Enemies of Our Ancestors” describes the Pueblo culture that existed in the Four Corners area from about 1 AD to 1300 AD. This village is believed to have been occupied from 1160 AD to 1235 AD. As many as 250 people lived there.
The village is largely unexcavated, though there was a brief excavation during 1958 and 1959, conducted by the University of Utah as part of the Glen Canyon Dam Project. During that excavation, archaeologists uncovered thousands of artifacts, and discovered a community of about 90 rooms divided into two separate one-story apartment complexes. An L-shaped building has been reconstructed and can be entered into by visitors. The cluster featured open shelters for working in the shade, storage pits, and adobe pit houses large enough for five or six residents. All together, about 100 structures have been found.
For other State Parks in Utah visit this page.