The Samuel Douglass House at 215 N. Main St. in Payson, Utah was built in 1874 and later substantially altered. It was updated to include Bungalow/craftsman architecture in 1912, and won a high school civics class award.
It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992. It is also a contributing building in the Payson Historic District, which was listed on the National Register in 2007.
Built in 1874 and expanded c. 1894 and 1912, the Samuel Douglass House is architecturally significant in Payson. It is an excellent local example of the vernacular interpretation of nineteenth-century Greek and Gothic Revival styles subsequently adapted to twentieth-century Bungalow and Arts and Crafts styles. The house is also significant for its unique, original floor plan, which remains easily discernible.
Samuel Douglass was born in 1850 in Salt Lake City, moving to the Peteetneet community in 1863. He followed his father in the general merchandise business and served in several civic positions. He married Emma Jane Dixon in 1874 and was recognized as a successful businessman and supporter of important civic projects such as the Strawberry Valley Project. His house was wired for electricity in 1897 and was also among the first in the community to have running water installed in 1902. The architectural changes made to the house in 1912 reflected growing optimism in the area and incorporated the latest Bungalow and Arts and Crafts styles.
Click here for other historic homes in Payson.