, , , ,

Amanda Knight Hall, named in honor of Amanda McEwan Knight, wife of Jesse Knight, was the first dormitory for women built by Brigham Young University. Completed in 1939, this three-story, red brick building was designed by architect, Joseph Nelson. ‘The blend of Tudor Revival and Collegiate Gothic architectural styles is rarely seen in Provo and contributes to the turn-of-the-century architecture found on North University Avenue. The building was dedicated by LDS Church President David O. McKay on May 26, 1954.