Wonderful Park in Lost Hills, California.
Lost Hills Posts:
The Lost Hills post office opened in 1911, closed in 1912, re-opened in 1913 (having transferred it from Cuttens), and moved in 1937. At one time, the Post Office was a small rented room, in the Edmondson’s cafe and bar. Later it was a small mobile home size building. In 2012-2013, Paramount Farms, the company 75% of the population works for, gave the small town of Lost Hills a helping hand with the reopening of the Lost Hills park. In 2012, the town of Lost Hills underwent through infrastructure projects like new sidewalks paved and gentrification in the town. By 2014, new housing developments start to spring up in the town of Lost Hills.
Archaeological evidence indicates the presence of Native American settlements dating back thousands of years. The Yokuts lived in lodges along the branches of the Kern River Delta and hunted antelope, tule elk, deer, bear, fish, and game birds. In 1776, Spanish missionary Father Francisco Garcés became the first European to explore the area. Owing to the remoteness and inaccessibility of the region, however, the Yokuts remained largely isolated until after the Mexican War of Independence, when Mexican settlers began to migrate to the area. Following the discovery of gold in California in 1848, settlers flooded into the San Joaquin Valley. In 1851, gold was discovered along the Kern River in the southern Sierra Nevada, and in 1865, oil was discovered in the valley. The Bakersfield area, once a tule-reed-covered marshland, was first known as Kern Island to the handful of pioneers who built log cabins there in 1860. The area was subject to periodic flooding from the Kern River, which occupied what is now the downtown area, and experienced outbreaks of malaria.