Pioneer City Hall
Erected in 1867 as a County Court House. Active in construction were James Hammond, William Broad, Isaac Lee, W.C. Gollaher, John Gillespie, George Atkin, and John Gordon. The building was used for Court House, City Hall and Amusement Center, until 1941, when the new city hall on Main Street was completed. Later the building was turned over to the Daughters of Utah Pioneers for use as an amusement and meeting hall.
Rock used in building was taken from Settlement Canyon in Tooele County.
Tooele County Courthouse and City Hall
This Greek Revival temple-form building was constructed in 1867 using local stone. The belfry, added sometime after 1874, is Picturesque in style and has lathe-turned posts accentuated by scroll brackets, a distinctive spindle band, and a slightly bellcast pyramid roof. The hall was built, according to a newspaper article of the time, by the citizens of Tooele “for a dancing hall, for dramatic representations and other social and intellectual purposes.” It was leased to William C. Foster and Thomas Croft but was also used for holding court and other city and county business. Live entertainment, however, proved financially unsuccessful, and by 1871 the hall was utilized primarily as a courthouse. In 1899 a new courthouse was constructed, and the building became solely the city hall. In 1942, with the construction of a new city hall, it was authorized for use as a museum by the Daughters of the Utah Pioneers.