, , , , , , , ,

The Bee-Hive House

Erected about 1852 by President Brigham Young as the Official Residence of the President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and occupied by him from the time it was completed until his death in 1877.

From 1852 to 1855 it also served as the Executive Mansion of Governor Brigham Young of the Territory of Utah.

It was also the home of presidents Lorenzo Snow (1898 – 1901) and Joseph F. Smith (1901 – 1918), both of whom died here.

The Beehive is the State Emblem signifying industry.

The Bee-Hive House is part of the Brigham Young Complex and is located at 67 East South Temple in the downtown neighborhood of Salt Lake City, Utah and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places February 26, 1970 (#70000631).

Several SUP/UPTLA Markers are located near each other here.

The Utah Historic Site plaque says the Beehive House was built in 1854 of adobe brick, the architect was Truman O. Angell and it was the home of Brigham Young, the 2nd President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and 1st Governor of the Territory of Utah.

Tourstop 5 in the Salt Lake City Tour says: The Beehive House served as Brigham Young’s residence, office, and reception area for official visitors.  At the time the house was built, Young was both president of the LDS Church and Utah’s territorial governor.  The Beehive House was designed by Young’s brother-in-law, Truman O. Angell.  Angell was also the architect for the Lion House and the Salt Lake LDS Temple.  Built of stuccoed adobe, the Beehive House features a two-story veranda, an observatory, and a cupola topped with a beehive.  Young’s son added a three-story wing to the north when he remodeled the house in 1888.  In the early 1960s, the LDS Church restored the Beehive House to resemble its 1888 appearance.